ICC T20 World Cup 2009 Winner

 Pakistan won 2009 T20 World Cup Final & became Champion.

2009 T20 World Cup Final

The 2009 T20 World Cup was the second edition of the Twenty20 cricket World Cup. The tournament was held in England, and was won by Pakistan, who defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 8 wickets. 

The tournament featured 12 teams and was played between June 5 and June 21, 2009. The top four teams from the 2007 World Twenty20 automatically qualified for the tournament, while the remaining eight teams were determined through a qualification process. 

The tournament featured several notable performances, including a century from West Indies' Chris Gayle, and a hat-trick from Pakistan's Umar Gul in the semi-final against New Zealand

This tournament was the first World Twenty20 tournament in which all matches were held in England.

The 2009 T20 World Cup was seen as an opportunity for the England cricket team to prove their mettle in the shortest format of the game, as the tournament was hosted in their home country. However, the England team failed to make it to the semi-finals, as they lost to the Netherlands in the group stage.

The tournament featured some exciting matches, including a thrilling Super Eight match between Pakistan and South Africa, which ended in a tie, with Pakistan winning the subsequent bowl-out.

The final was played at Lord's Cricket Ground in London and the Pakistan team, led by Younis Khan, put in a dominating performance to defeat Sri Lanka and lift the trophy. Shahid Afridi was declared player of the tournament, as he took 13 wickets and scored 141 runs.

This was Pakistan's first major ICC tournament win in almost a decade, and it was seen as a major boost for Pakistani cricket. 

The tournament was also notable for the large crowds that attended the matches, with many venues selling out during the course of the tournament.

Most Wickets in 2009 ICC World Twenty20

The most wickets taken in the 2009 T20 World Cup was by Pakistan's fast bowler Umar Gul. 

He took 13 wickets in 7 matches at an average of 12.53 and an economy rate of 6.88. He was the most successful bowler of the tournament and played a crucial role in Pakistan's victory.

If you want to see Scorecard of 2009 T20 World Cup Final then Click Here

Here are the top five run-scorers in the 2009 T20 World Cup:

1) Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka) - 317 runs

2) Kevin Pietersen (England) - 248 runs

3) Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) - 243 runs

4) Yuvraj Singh (India) - 236 runs

5) Shane Watson (Australia) - 235 runs

Man of the Tournament in 2009 T20 World Cup - MOTT

Shahid Afridi of Pakistan was the Man of the Tournament in the 2009 T20 World Cup. He had a very impressive tournament, scoring 141 runs at an average of 35.25 and taking 15 wickets with an economy rate of 6.00. He was instrumental in Pakistan's journey to the final, where they were defeated by Sri Lanka. 

He was also named the player of the match in the final against Sri Lanka where he took four wickets while giving away only 11 runs. His performance in the tournament was widely praised, and he was recognized as the best player of the tournament.


In this blog post we have provided you all information about 2009 t20 world cup including Winner, MOTT, Highest Runs Scorers and Most wicket taker.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post